25 Wyoming Teachers To Receive Arch Coal's Golden Apple Award

May 17, 2007 12:00 AM ET

25 Wyoming Teachers To Receive Arch Coal's Golden Apple Award

WRIGHT, Wyo. (May 17, 2007) – Twenty-five Wyoming classroom teachers will receive the Arch Coal Foundation's "Golden Apple" award, according to Greg Schaefer, Arch Coal vice president for external affairs.

"These outstanding classroom teachers were very close to receiving the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award," said Schaefer. "The judging for this year's awards was extremely close and these 25 teachers finished within only a few percentage points of the achievement award recipients. In fact, our judges — a panel of former recipients — reported that it required extra reviews to determine the recipients of the achievement awards.

"This means that several of the recipients of the Golden Apple award were within less than a percentage point away from winning our major award," Schaefer said. "I am sure that these teachers will be nominated again in the next school year, because they are clearly outstanding teachers."

The Golden Apple recipients are:

Lori Bahnson	Wagonwheel Elementary School	Gillette
Maggie Bell	Lander Valley High School	Lander
Bruce Berst	Natrona County High School	Casper
Jerry Behrens	Cody High School	Cody
Brenda Bosco	Fort Casper Academy	Casper
Sue Ellen Demaree	Spring Creek Elementary School	Laramie
Debbie Dickinson	West Elementary	Wheatland
John Foy	Verda James Elementary School	Casper
Diane Gardner	North Evanston Elementary School	Evanston
Sandra Gothard	Carey Junior High School	Cheyenne
Renee Hunzie	Kemmerer Elementary School	Kemmerer
Pamela Jackson	Cody Middle School	Cody
Carol Jiacoletti	Anderson Elementary School	Cheyenne
Amy Kassel	East High School	Cheyenne
Molly Sage Kinsey	Highland Park Elementary	Sheridan
Julie Kortum	Paintbrush Elementary	Gillette
Cheryl Monroe	Encampment K-12	Encampment
Dewain Charles Myers	Sage Valley Junior High School	Gillette
Elicia Osborne	Cody Middle School	Cody
Jody Quigley	Newcastle Elementary	Newcastle
Carl Raymond Romanowski	Rock Springs High School	Rock Springs
Feladelfio "Phil" Romero II	Douglas Middle School	Douglas
Eddy Wise	Worland High School	Worland
Robert Zechiel	Douglas Intermediate School	Douglas
Val Zierden	Dean Morgan Junior High School	Casper

"The Arch Coal teacher recognition program is unique in Wyoming, because it asks the public – students, parents, colleagues – to nominate teachers, and then the teachers' applications are judged by a panel of their peers," Schaefer explained.

Arch Coal named the recipients of its Teacher Achievement Award on May 1. The 25 recipients of the Golden Apple award are eligible to compete in the next school year, as are other full-time classroom teachers in the state.

Arch Coal is supported by the Wyoming Department of Education, the Wyoming Education Association, Taco John's, Loaf'n Jug, and the Wyoming Library community in program promotion. This is the seventh year Arch Coal has made the awards in Wyoming.

Arch Coal is one of the nation's largest coal producers and employs more than 1,000 people in Wyoming. Arch produces more than 90 million tons of clean-burning, low-sulfur coal annually at its Wyoming operations. The company's Black Thunder operation in Campbell County is one of the nation's largest and most efficient coal mines. Arch Coal is traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.