23 Utah Teachers Receive Arch Coal 'Golden Apple' Certificates

April 15, 2008 12:00 AM ET

PRICE, Utah (April 15, 2008) - Twenty-three classroom teachers from Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties have been selected to receive 'Golden Apple' certificates from the Arch Coal Foundation, according to Erwin Sass, general manager of Dugout Canyon mine.

The counties surround Canyon Fuel Company's Dugout Canyon, Skyline and Sufco coal mines owned by Arch Coal, one of the nation's largest coal producers.

"These teachers came incredibly close to receiving the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award," said Sass. "Their applications scored very highly and I understand the judging was very difficult because there we so many excellent applications.

"What this means is that these counties have many superior teachers and that our children are receiving excellent educations," Sass said. "These teachers deserve to be nominated by the community again next year."

Gloria Kay Albrecht	Monroe Elementary School	Monroe
Launa Kaye Albrecht	North Sevier High School	Salina
Sherry Denise Barrett	Fairview Elementary School	Fairview
David Barckley Bird	Emery High	Castle Dale
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	and Canyon View Jr. High	Huntington
Rose Marie Card	San Raffael Junior High	Ferron
Carol Been Carlson	Wellington Elementary	Wellington
Benjamin Eddie Cox	North Sanpete High School	Mt. Pleasant
Dorothy (Sue) Douglas	Pahvant Elementary	Richfield
Kathleen Atwood Eicher	Mount Pleasant Elementary	Mount Pleasant
Roy Martin Ellefsen	North Sanpete High School	Mt. Pleasant
Lorraine Frandsen	Cottonwood Elementary	Orangeville
Layne Ned Hales	San Raffael Junior High	Ferron
Karen A. Hansen	Gunnison Valley Middle School	Gunnison
John Charles Hughes	Book Cliff Elementary	Green River
Elizabeth K. Johnson	Castle Dale Elementary	Castle Dale
Lars Edward Johnson	Gunnison High School	Gunnison
Elizabeth D. Mason	Salina Elementary School	Salina
Eric Kendall Mortensen	Canyon View Junior High	Huntington
Neal Peacock	Emery High School	Castle Dale
Tony F. Pinedo	Carbon High School	Price
Jodi Alene Sitterud	Cleveland Elementary	Cleveland
Dina Michelle Wise	Wellington Elementary	Wellington
Terri Lyn Williams	Salina Elementary School	Salina

Nominations of the teachers are made by the public, and selection is made by a blue-ribbon panel of the teachers' peers. This is the second year the Arch Coal Foundation has sponsored the teacher recognition program.

Supporters of the program include the Office of Governor Jon Huntsman, Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, Far West Bank, Market Express, radio stations KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC, KCYQ, KOAL, KARB, KRPX, and both TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price.

Arch Coal's Canyon Fuel Company is Utah's largest coal producer and a large, state employer with a workforce of approximately 800. Through its national network of mines, Arch Coal, Inc. provides the fuel for approximately 6 percent of the electricity

generated in the United States. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.