Investor Relations

Copyright West LLC. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.

News Release

Printer Friendly VersionView printer-friendly version << Back

Five Utah Educators Receive 2011 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards

RICHFIELD, Utah., April 15, 2011 -- Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards were presented to five outstanding Utah classroom teachers today by the Arch Coal Foundation.

Announcement of the recipients of the regional teacher recognition awards was made by Arch Coal Senior Vice President Paul Lang. He was accompanied by Utah State Board of Education Vice Chairman Dixie Allen and Utah Education Association Vice President Tom Nedreberg.

The five award-winning teachers of 2011 are:

Bonny Dahlsrud Salina Elementary School Salina
Karen A. Hansen Gunnison Valley Middle School Gunnison
Lori Ware Labrum Cottonwood Elementary School Orangeville
Ashlee Larsen Monroe Elementary School Monroe
Janiece Tuttle Ashman Elementary School Richfield

"It's clear that Utahans believe in the value of quality education provided by caring, professional teachers," said Lang. "These award-winning teachers are not only masters of the materials they teach, but also provide a caring, nurturing environment for their students. They challenge the children and support their efforts to succeed."

"In the current atmosphere of accountability and data driven models of instruction, it is indeed greatly appreciated that there are companies like Arch Coal that work to recognize those who truly are the masters of quality education in our state and the nation -- the teachers," said Dixie Allen. "We do not do nearly enough in our nation to validate, reward and support the great work of quality teachers. They are the unsung heroes that provide education for each and every child and, in turn, for the next generation of great minds that will influence a free and productive world."

"The Utah Education Association is proud to partner with the Arch Coal Foundation to honor these outstanding educators," said Nedreberg. "These professionals are helping to build a bright future for our state. They represent the very best of Utah's many talented teachers."
The Arch Coal Foundation's teacher recognition program is available to classroom teachers in Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties. The counties surround the Skyline, Dugout Canyon and Sufco mines operated by Canyon Fuel Company, a subsidiary of major U.S. coal producer Arch Coal, Inc. Each recipient receives a distinctive trophy, a classroom plaque and a $3,500 personal, cash award.

Partners for the program include the Office of the Governor, Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, Far West Bank, Market Express, radio stations KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC, KCYQ, KOAL, KARB, KRPX, and both TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price.

Arch's Canyon Fuel Company is Utah's largest coal producer and a large, state employer, with a workforce of more than 800. U.S.-based Arch Coal, Inc. (NYSE:ACI) is one of the world's largest and most efficient coal producers, with more than 160 million tons of coal sold in 2010. Arch's national network of mines supplies cleaner-burning, low-sulfur coal to customers on four continents, including U.S. and international power producers and steel manufacturers.

Information about each of the five current recipients, as well as past recipients, is posted at