News & Media

Arch Coal Presents 12 West Virginia Teachers with Achievement Awards

March 8, 2011 at 12:32 PM EST

CHARLESTON, W.Va., March 8, 2011 -- Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards were presented to 12 outstanding West Virginia classroom teachers today by the Arch Coal Foundation.

Announcement of the recipients of the statewide teacher recognition awards was made by Arch Coal Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Steven F. Leer. He was accompanied by West Virginia Governor Earl Ray Tomblin and West Virginia Education Association (WVEA) Executive Director David Haney.


The 12 award-winning teachers of 2011 are:

Mary K. Adams

Fairmont Senior High School


Maxine Pervola Arbogast

Morgantown High School


Carrie Jo Browning

Omar Elementary School


Eva L. Ellis

Madison Middle School


William Norcott Fletcher

Mineral Wells Elementary School

Mineral Wells

Terry J. Hickle

Parkersburg High School


Nancy Holdsworth

New Manchester Elementary

New Cumberland

Becky Jones

Lumberport Middle School


Drema McNeal

Park Middle School


Robin Oldaker

Union Elementary School


Janet L. Phillips

Hodgesville Elementary School


Lori R. Woods

Washington District Elementary



"These award-winning teachers have the capability to change the world," said Leer. "Our American way of life depends on outstanding educators to teach and challenge our children, enabling them to succeed today and in the future. These teachers nurture independent, creative thinkers, who have the skills and abilities to thrive in the board room, the coal mine or any other role. Our future truly rests on classroom teachers like the ones we honor today."

"As a former educator, I know the challenges that come with standing at the head of the class," Gov. Tomblin said. "We have wonderful, inspiring and dedicated teachers in West Virginia who go above and beyondeach and every day to help our children succeed. I am thankful for Arch Coal for supporting education in West Virginia. Today's students are tomorrow's workers, and we need all of our corporate citizens to recognize their important role in shaping our future workforce. I'd like to extend my congratulations to this year's award recipients and encourage each of you to continue to be examples of outstanding educators."

"The West Virginia Education Association and its foundation, the West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education(WVFIE), are pleased to be partners with Arch Coal as it recognizes some of the fine teachers that work throughout our state," said Haney. "Teachers are rarely honored for the hard work and long hours they put into providing a high quality education for the students of our state.These teachers exemplify the spirit and dedication of thousands of their peers throughout the state."

In addition to recognition, awardees receive a $3,500 unrestricted cash prize, a distinctive trophy and a classroom plaque. WVFIE makes a $1,000 award to each recipient's school, for use with at-risk students.

The teacher recognition awards are underwritten by the Arch Coal Foundation and supported in program-promotion by the West Virginia Department of Education, the WVEA and the West Virginia Library Commission. The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards is the longest running, privately sponsored teacher-recognition program in the state. Nominations are made by the public, and selection is made by a blue-ribbon panel of the teachers' peers - previous recipients of the award.

The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher-recognition or grant programs in Wyoming, Utah and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Arch Coal, Inc. is one of the world's largest and most efficient coal producers, with more than 160 million tons sold in 2010. Arch supplies cleaner-burning, low-sulfur coal to customers on four continents through its national network of mines. In West Virginia, Arch subsidiaries operate the Mountain Laurel and Coal-Mac complexes. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.