Investor Relations

Copyright West LLC. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.

News Release

Printer Friendly VersionView printer-friendly version << Back

Arch Coal Foundation Honors Five Utah Area Educators

GUNNISON, Utah, May 8, 2013 -- Five outstanding area educators received prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards at a ceremony today at Gunnison Valley High School.

The announcement was made by Paul Lang, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Arch Coal. He was accompanied by Utah Gov. Gary R. Herbert and Utah Education Association President Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh.

The 2013 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients are:

Kathy S. Anderson Salina Elementary School Salina
Jesse Burrell Gunnison Valley High School Gunnison
Reed Fehlberg Canyon View Junior High School Huntington
Mark Lyons Gunnison Valley High School Gunnison
Kelly Peterson North Sevier High School Salina

"These award-winning teachers set high standards and challenge their students to do their best," Lang said. "Today's teachers play pivotal roles in the success of our students and communities. We're proud to honor these outstanding teachers, and we salute them for their hard work and dedication."

"Besides a parent, a teacher has the greatest influence on children by nurturing their intellect and shaping their understanding of the greater world," said Herbert. "Jeanette and I thank Arch Coal for fostering educational excellence and recognizing outstanding educators, and we congratulate this year's honorees. We honor their service in the classroom and their inspirational contribution to the future of the state of Utah and its children."

"The educators honored today are shining examples of the many talented Utah teachers working to build a bright future for our students and our state," said Gallagher-Fishbaugh. "The Utah Education Association is proud to partner with the Arch Coal Foundation to honor these outstanding professionals."

This is the seventh year of the Arch Coal Foundation's teacher recognition program. Classroom teachers from Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties were eligible. The counties surround the Skyline, Sufco and Dugout Canyon mines operated by Canyon Fuel Company, a subsidiary of Arch Coal.

The public nominates teachers, and a blue-ribbon peer panel of past award recipients selects the winners. In addition to recognition, Teacher Achievement Awards recipients receive a $3,500 cash award, a distinctive trophy and a classroom plaque.

The teacher recognition awards are underwritten by the Arch Coal Foundation. Partners for the program include the Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, AmericanWest Bank, radio stations KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC, KWUT, KOAL, KARB, KRPX, and Market Express, TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price.

The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher recognition and grants programs in West Virginia, Wyoming and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Information about individual recipients is posted at

St. Louis-based Arch Coal, Inc. (NYSE:ACI) is one of the world's top coal producers for the global steel and power generation industries, serving customers in 25 countries on five continents. Its network of mining complexes is the most diversified in the United States, spanning every major coal basin in the nation. Arch Coal's Canyon Fuel Company is Utah's largest coal producer, with a workforce of more than 700. Arch Coal and the Arch Coal Foundation have a long history of supporting educational and community causes in Utah. For more information, visit