News & Media

Arch Coal Foundation Announces Five Teacher Achievement Recipients in Utah

April 28, 2009 at 12:00 AM EDT

WELLINGTON, Utah (April 28, 2009) - Five outstanding classroom teachers today received the prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award. The announcement was made at Wellington Elementary by Arch Coal President and Chief Operating Officer John Eaves.

Eaves was joined at the presentation ceremony by state school board member Dixie Allen and Utah Education Association Executive Director Mark Mickelsen.

The 2009 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients are:

Carol B. Carlson Wellington Elementary School Wellington
Benjamin E. Cox North Sanpete High School Mt. Pleasant
Lars Johnson Gunnison Valley High School Gunnison
Teri L. McElprang Huntington Elementary Huntington
Deborah Morgan North Sevier Middle School Salina

"These five teachers are among the very best teachers in Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties," says Eaves. "They are our stars in the classroom.

"Without dedicated, professional teachers, who demand performance, inspire greatness and love both their work and students, where would America be?" says Eaves. "When I see the quality of teachers in this area, I know their students are ready to tackle the world. It is an honor to recognize these five top teachers today."

"Quality teaching is much more than what can be reflected on a test or in a classroom visit," says Allen. "Arch Coal realizes the importance of rewarding quality teachers and the many facets that define them. It is a great pleasure to celebrate the effectiveness of these teachers, as well as Arch Coal and the Arch Coal Foundation, which realize the worth of quality education."

"The Utah Education Association is proud to partner with the Arch Coal Foundation in honoring these outstanding teachers," says Mickelsen. "However, their legacy is far richer than the awards we give them today. The students they inspire will someday be our future astronauts, engineers and teachers. To teach truly is to touch a life forever."

Each recipient receives a distinctive trophy, a classroom plaque and a $3,500 personal, cash award.

Almost 200 award nominations were received from the public this year. This is the third year for the Arch Coal Foundation's teacher recognition program in Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties. These counties surround the Dugout Canyon, Skyline and Sufco mines, operated by Canyon Fuel Company, a subsidiary of major U.S. coal producer Arch Coal, Inc.

Partners for this year's program include the Office of Governor Jon Huntsman, Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, Far West Bank, radio stations KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC, KCYQ, KOAL, KARB, KRPX, and both TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price.

The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher recognition or grant programs in West Virginia, Wyoming and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Arch Coal is Utah's largest coal producer and a large, state employer, with a workforce of approximately 800. Through all its operations, Arch Coal is one of the nation's largest coal producers. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.

Biographical information and a photo for each of the five recipients are posted on the Arch Coal Web site: