Investor Relations

Copyright West LLC. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.

News Release

Printer Friendly VersionView printer-friendly version << Back

25 Wyoming Teachers To Receive Arch Coal's Golden Apple Award

25 Wyoming Teachers To Receive Arch Coal's Golden Apple Award

WRIGHT, Wyo. (May 17, 2007) – Twenty-five Wyoming classroom teachers will receive the Arch Coal Foundation's "Golden Apple" award, according to Greg Schaefer, Arch Coal vice president for external affairs.

"These outstanding classroom teachers were very close to receiving the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award," said Schaefer. "The judging for this year's awards was extremely close and these 25 teachers finished within only a few percentage points of the achievement award recipients. In fact, our judges – a panel of former recipients – reported that it required extra reviews to determine the recipients of the achievement awards.

"This means that several of the recipients of the Golden Apple award were within less than a percentage point away from winning our major award," Schaefer said. "I am sure that these teachers will be nominated again in the next school year, because they are clearly outstanding teachers."

The Golden Apple recipients are:

Lori Bahnson
Maggie Bell
Bruce Berst
Jerry Behrens
Brenda Bosco
Sue Ellen Demaree
Debbie Dickinson
John Foy
Diane Gardner
Sandra Gothard
Renee Hunzie
Pamela Jackson
Carol Jiacoletti
Amy Kassel
Molly Sage Kinsey
Julie Kortum
Cheryl Monroe
Dewain Charles Myers
Elicia Osborne
Jody Quigley
Carl Raymond Romanowski
Feladelfio "Phil" Romero II
Eddy Wise
Robert Zechiel
Val Zierden
Wagonwheel Elementary School
Lander Valley High School
Natrona County High School
Cody High School
Fort Casper Academy
Spring Creek Elementary School
West Elementary
Verda James Elementary School
North Evanston Elementary School
Carey Junior High School
Kemmerer Elementary School
Cody Middle School
Anderson Elementary School
East High School
Highland Park Elementary
Paintbrush Elementary
Encampment K-12
Sage Valley Junior High School
Cody Middle School
Newcastle Elementary
Rock Springs High School
Douglas Middle School
Worland High School
Douglas Intermediate School
Dean Morgan Junior High School
Rock Springs

"The Arch Coal teacher recognition program is unique in Wyoming, because it asks the public – students, parents, colleagues – to nominate teachers, and then the teachers' applications are judged by a panel of their peers," Schaefer explained.

Arch Coal named the recipients of its Teacher Achievement Award on May 1. The 25 recipients of the Golden Apple award are eligible to compete in the next school year, as are other full-time classroom teachers in the state.

Arch Coal is supported by the Wyoming Department of Education, the Wyoming Education Association, Taco John's, Loaf'n Jug, and the Wyoming Library community in program promotion. This is the seventh year Arch Coal has made the awards in Wyoming.

Arch Coal is one of the nation's largest coal producers and employs more than 1,000 people in Wyoming. Arch produces more than 90 million tons of clean-burning, low-sulfur coal annually at its Wyoming operations. The company's Black Thunder operation in Campbell County is one of the nation's largest and most efficient coal mines. Arch Coal is traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.