News & Media

24 West Virginia Teachers Earn Arch Coal Golden Apple Awards

May 5, 2009 at 12:00 AM EDT

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (May 5, 2009) - Twenty four outstanding classroom teachers earned 2009 Golden Apple Awards certificates from the Arch Coal Foundation, according to John R. Snider, Arch Coal vice president, external affairs, eastern region.

"The applications from Golden Apple Awards recipients received very high marks from the program's judges," said Snider. "Their scores were very close to those of the 12 recipients of the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award, which is the Arch Coal Foundation's highest honor. We hope these excellent classroom teachers are nominated again next year."

Recipients of the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards were announced last month. Their names are posted on the Arch Coal Web site:

The 2009 Golden Apple Award certificate recipients are:

Julie Alderman Chapmanville Middle School Chapmanville
Maxine Mary Arbogast Morgantown High School Morgantown
Karen Arms Man High School Man
Carrie Browning Omar Elementary School Omar
Anna Jean Carpenter Webster County High School Upperglade
Janis Clark Holden Grade School Holden
Patsy Diane Crisel Buffalo Elementary School Kenova
Rebecca Curry Athens School Athens
Dina DeCoffee-Perrone Gerrardstown Elementary School Gerrardstown
James Dennis Parkersburg South High School Parkersburg
Melanie Donofe Liberty Elementary School Weirton
Brenda Joyce Gibson Braxton County High School Sutton
Carol Ann Hamilton Spring Hills Middle School Martinsburg
Michael Allen Hays Mannington Middle School Mannington
Terry Hickle Parkersburg High School Parkersburg
Edwinna Howard-Jack Buckhannon-Upshur High School Buckhannon
Sandra Laird Emerson Elementary School Parkersburg
Alisa Lemley Buckhannon-Upshur High School Buckhannon
Amy Martin Loftis Alban Elementary School St. Albans
Charles Thomas McClain James Ramsey Technical Institute Martinsburg
Connie Scarbrough Ripley High School Ripley
Lynn Marie Schwallie Scott Teays Elementary School Scott Depot
Debbie Sowards Scott Teays Elementary School Scott Depot
Sheila Toth Barrackville Elementary School Barrackville

"This is the oldest, privately sponsored teacher recognition program in the state," Snider said. "We are very pleased that the public continues to recognize the importance of teaching excellence and nominates hundreds of teachers every year for these awards. It is apparent that West Virginia has a cadre of very professional, dedicated classroom teachers."

The awards program is supported by the West Virginia Department of Education, the West Virginia Education Association and its West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education, and the West Virginia Library Commission.

Arch Coal is one of the nation's largest coal producers. Through its national network of mines, Arch supplies the fuel for approximately 6 percent of the electricity generated in the United States. In West Virginia, Arch Coal subsidiaries operate the Mountain Laurel and Coal-Mac operations. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and