Investor Relations

Copyright West LLC. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.

News Release

Printer Friendly VersionView printer-friendly version << Back

23 West Virginia Teachers Earn Arch Coal 'Golden Apples'

Charleston, W.Va. (April 10, 2007) - Twenty-three West Virginia classroom teachers have earned Golden Apple awards from the Arch Coal Foundation, according to John R. Snider, Arch Coal, Inc. vice president for external affairs.

Last month, the Arch Coal Foundation gave Teacher Achievement Awards to 12 outstanding West Virginia teachers, Snider reported.

"The teachers receiving the Golden Apple awards are outstanding in every respect and finished closely behind those who received the achievement awards," Snider said. "Our judges - teachers who have received the achievement award in the past - had a very difficult task in determining this year's recipients. There were many superior applications.

"I hope that the Golden Apple recipients will apply again, because they narrowly missed being selected for the achievement awards," Snider said. "It is reassuring to Arch Coal and the business community that West Virginia's children are in good hands in their classrooms. The state is fortunate to have so many talented teachers."

The Golden Apple recipients are:

Dinah AdkinsPoint Harmony Elementary SchoolCross Lanes
Karen ArmsMan High SchoolMan
Diana Kay ArthurFairview Elementary SchoolFairview
Kelly Beckett Franklin Elementary CenterParkersburg
Linda Gayle Boley Meadow Bridge ElementaryMeadow Bridge
Brenda Gayla BunnVillage of Barboursville ElementaryBarboursville
Patricia CainCalhoun-Gilmer Career CenterGrantsville
Jane Ann Conrad Brandywine Elementary SchoolBrandywine
Cheryl CottrillParkersburg High SchoolParkersburg
Helen Virginia FurioliWellsburg Middle SchoolWellsburg
Sarah Twigg GaughenbaughJohn Marshall High SchoolGlen Dale
Stacy GreerWoodsdale Elementary SchoolWheeling
Linda GroseElkins High SchoolElkins
Gene Hovatter Barbour County Technical CenterPhillipi
Beverly Lynne KiblerPoca High School Poca
Robin Sue McCants Hedgesville High SchoolHedgesville
Joyce Michaels Frankfort Middle SchoolRidgeley
Greg MinterNuttall Middle SchoolLookout
Debora Lynn NicholsonBridgeport High SchoolBridgeport
Katie Jo Owens Ritchie County Middle SchoolEllenboro
Debra Ann SowardsScott Teays Elementary School Scott Depot
Jill StempleRock Cave Elementary SchoolRock Cave
Kathy Swanson Ashford-Rumble Elementary SchoolAshford

The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards program is the longest running, privately sponsored teacher recognition program in the state. Teachers are nominated by the public and selected by award-winning teachers. The awards program is supported by the West Virginia Department of Education, the West Virginia Education Association and its West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education, and the West Virginia Library Commission.

Arch Coal, Inc. is one of the nation's largest coal producers. The company's core business is providing U.S. power generators with clean-burning, low-sulfur coal for electric generation. Through its national network of mines, Arch supplies the fuel for approximately 6 percent of the electricity generated in the United States. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.