Investor Relations

Copyright West LLC. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.

News Release

Printer Friendly VersionView printer-friendly version << Back

16 Wyoming Teachers Receive 2010 Arch Coal Golden Apple Awards

WRIGHT, Wyo., May 21, 2010 - Sixteen Wyoming classroom teachers have earned Arch Coal Golden Apple Achiever Awards, the Arch Coal Foundation announced today.

According to Greg Schaefer, Arch Coal, Inc., vice president of external affairs, western region, the Golden Apple awards are given to applicants in the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards program who scored exceptionally high and were close to receiving the top award.

"In the 10-year history of our teacher recognition program, this year's judging was significant because there were many high scores and an unusually large number of teachers who came extremely close to receiving the Achievement Award," reported Schaefer. "Wyoming is fortunate to have so many outstanding classroom teachers."

The 2010 Golden Apple recipients are:

Rebecca J. Adsit Sheridan Junior High School Sheridan
Melanie J. Boyes CY Junior High School Casper
Amy Carpenter Cody Middle School Cody
Donna Compton Star Valley High School Afton
Cynthia S. Farrell Kelly Walsh High School Casper
Eleanor E. Grinnell Triumph High School Cheyenne
J. L. Josephson Newcastle High School Newcastle
Stephany M. Loberg Cody High School Cody
Chad Lybeck Central High School Cheyenne
Lyniece McKim Star Valley High School Afton
Lemuel “Chip” Miller Cody High School Cody
Cheryl Kay Monroe Encampment School K-12 Encampment
Molly S. Potas Meeteetse School Meeteetse
Cordelia S. Roberts Big Horn Elementary School Big Horn
Amy K. Sorensen Crest Hill Elementary Casper
LeAnn E. Uhling Saratoga Elementary Saratoga

The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards program is unique because the public is asked to nominate teachers and then other teachers serve as the program's judges. "This process of public nomination and peer selection sets the Arch Coal program apart from any others," according to Schaefer. "The recipients of the Teacher Achievement Awards, as well as the Golden Apple Awards, are selected by an independent panel of peers composed of past recipients of the award."

Recently, the 10th annual awards ceremony was held at the State Capitol where the 2010 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients were honored. Since the awards program began in Wyoming, the Arch Coal Foundation has honored 100 exemplary classroom teachers and has provided $270,000 in cash awards.

The Wyoming Department of Education, the Wyoming Education Association, the Wyoming library community, Taco John's and Loaf 'N Jug stores are longstanding supporters of the program. The Arch Coal Foundation also is a supporter of teacher-recognition programs in West Virginia, Utah and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Arch Coal, Inc. is the nation's second largest coal producer. Arch Coal subsidiaries Thunder Basin Coal Company and Arch of Wyoming employ approximately 1,800 people in Wyoming. Thunder Basin's Black Thunder and Coal Creek mines produce approximately 12 percent of the annual U.S. coal supply. Arch Coal is traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: ACI) and maintains its corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Mo.